It’s not my problem

While making my way from country to country in the beginning of September, my smallness was truly realized. I had never before left my home country but here I am on unfamiliar soil. I don’t really know how I got here. All I know is that what God put on my heart in the summer of 2012 is happening right now. I’m spending three months serving in a capacity that not many people will have in their entire life. And here, in this place, I see and hear of problem after problem after problem. Some days I feel like my heart can’t take anymore. But then, I am reminded that I am not here to solve every problem I come across. Even Christ didn’t do that when He was on earth.

“Feed my sheep,”

He said. Not solve the worlds problems in a day or week or 3 short months. I can’t find homes for the 38 abandoned children in the orphanage. I may not even be able to help the boy who easily gets frusterated with math homework  unless he helps himself. And I can’t feed/clothe/bathe an entire gypsy village. But I can love them.

I can hold the hands of the little boys and girls that were left because their parents didn’t want them. I can spend my afternoons tutoring children that come from broken families. I can love the gypsys by teaching english and playing games with the children whose hands are black from shelling walnuts allday. 

All I am here to do is show them that because Christ loved them, I love them too.

Standard

Leave a comment